Know anyone who could use professional assistance with a résumé and cover letter, but can’t afford it? I’d like to help someone.

Candidates must have the following:

  • Access to a computer (ideally a PC with MS Word).
  • A target position in mind (e.g. accountant, factory line worker, teacher, etc.).
  • Enthusiasm about participating in this process and the ability to spend between one and two hours on the phone with me sometime during the week of December 16th-20th.
  • Willingness and ability to accurately provide all relevant details/explanations and dates of previous positions. I’m very willing to work with someone facing significant challenges, such as gaps in employment, terminations, or even a criminal record; however, in order to optimize the writing/presentation strategy, I need the individual to be open and honest about any hiring obstacles at hand.
  • No ability to pay for the service. I will work on an honor system regarding payment ability, but I want to be helping someone who absolutely cannot cover the expense (including by a spouse or parents).

Please email “applications” including the following information to Sheila@CareerCollaborations.com BY NOON (EASTERN TIME) THIS FRIDAY, DECEMBER 13TH:

  • A paragraph or two about the individual’s circumstances and career goals.
  • A recommendation indicating why the individual would excel in his/her targeted position. Why would you hire this person if you could? Just a few lines is fine. This doesn’t need to be a formal letter of recommendation. If you are applying on behalf of someone else, you can write this. If you’re applying for yourself, please ask someone else to write it.
  • If the individual has a current working résumé, please send that to me, as well. This is not a requirement.

I’ll select a “winner” by Sunday, December 15th. My decision will be based on need and on my ability to make an impact. I’m sorry that I will only be able to work with one person. Thank you for your understanding!

Turnaround time will be approximately 10 days from initial discussion. Details about my résumé-writing process can be found on my website, www.CareerCollaborations.com. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Happy holidays!!!

Sheila

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

